Edition logo Menu

Kneebody | By Fire

Kneebody are set to release their new collaborative digital only EP ‘By Fire’, on 3rd May, with plans for a forthcoming original album due later in the year.

With their forthcoming digital EP release, ‘By Fire’, the band offer a set of recorded covers for the first time in their career, teaming up an eclectic array of guest singers and instrumentalists including Michael Mayo, Becca Stevens, DAWN, Josh Dion (of Paris Monster) and Gerald Clayton, to put their own spin on five songs by Hiatus Kaiyote, Wye Oak, Soundgarden, The Band and John Legend.

Ben Wendel – Tenor Saxophone, Effects
Shane Endsley – Trumpet, Effects
Adam Benjamin – Rhodes, Synths
Nate Wood – Drums, Electric Bass, Background Vocals


Photo by Robbie Suharlim


This EP release also marks the start of a new era for Kneebody, as bassist Kaveh Rastegar steps aside and sees the band move from a quintet to a quartet with Nate Wood taking the dual role of drummer and bassist, for which he has become brilliantly and inventively known in recent years in his solo project fOUR.

Since releasing their self-titled album in 2005, Kneebody, based across the US in Brooklyn, Denver and Reno, have created a genre and style all their own. With explosive rock energy, high-level nuanced chamber ensemble playing and adventurous no-holds-barred improvising, Kneebody have amassed an impressive list of credits and accomplishments while the band has continued to thrive and grow in reputation, solidifying a fan base around the world.

Kneebody are the embodiment of a deep friendship, musical collaboration and collective creative spirit at its best. “We are a democratic, equally owned-and-operated band with shared leadership,” says Shane Endsley. “Everyone brings in music and everyone votes on everything.”

“There isn’t a handy term or genre for the music that Kneebody creates. It’s a band thoroughly acquainted with 1960s free-bop, 1970s jazz rock, 1990s hip-hop and postmillennial indie rock; along with classical postminimalism. (I’m leaving something out, I’m sure.) Whatever the terminology, this group has an audience…” — New York Times

Kneebody’s new digital EP ‘By Fire’ will be released in May 2019.


1 By Fire 5:40  (featuring Michael Mayo, music by Hiatus Kaiyote)

2 Sick Talk 4:28 (featuring Becca Stevens, music by Wye Oak)

3 Black Hole Sun 5:35 (featuring DAWN, music by Soundgarden)

4 King Harvest 5:21 (featuring Josh Dion, music by The Band)

5 Hold On Longer 3:36 (featuring Gerald Clayton, music by John Legend)


Studio: Benaji Studios, Figure 8 Studios, S. Husky Höskulds – Groundlift Research & Development

Recording Engineer: Nate Wood, Sam Owens, Husky Höskulds

Recording Dates: Spring and Summer 2018

Mixing/Mastering Studio: KerseBoom Studios

Mixing/Mastering Engineer: Nate Wood

Produced by Kneebody


WED 22nd May – Blue Note Milano Milan, IT

WED 22nd May – Blue Note Milano Milan, IT

THU 23rd May – Paradiso Amsterdam, NL

FRI 24th May – Ancienne Belgique Bruxelles, BE

SAT 25th May – Festival Jazz Sous Les Pommiers, FR  

MON 27th May – Stadtgarten Cologne, DE

WED 29th May – Jazz Dock Prague, CZ

THU 30th May – Jazz Cafe London, UK

Tour Dates

You might also like