Large toggle button
00:00 / 00:00
Previous track button Next track button
  • 1. Untitled#1 2.14
  • 2. Blue Inspiration 11.07
  • 3. French 8.37
  • 4. Eight Hours 5.34
  • 5. Abraham's New Gift 10.07
  • 6. Rue Cinq Diamants 6.11
  • 7. Happy Notes 10.10
  • 8. Love Song 14.08
  • 9. Untitled#2 7.14
  • 10. Smoking the Camel 13.52

Release date: 26 July 2010


Available as limited edition vinyl, with online-only exclusives, as well as on WAV and MP3

Orders, Preorders & Delivery FAQs

An extraordinary recording and one of the most talked-about live piano trio releases in the last ten years, creating a widespread buzz in the Jazz media on its release.

Credits and About

Jasper Høiby Double Bbass

Ivo Neame Piano

Mark Guiliana Drums

All music by Jasper Høiby.

Recorded live at the Forge Arts Centre on 3rd and 4th March 2010 by engineer Matt Robertson and assistant engineer Dave Moore.

Mixed and mastered by August Wanngren in April and May 2010 at We Know Music Studios, Islands Brygge, Copenhagen, Denmark.

Live Sound by Sahan Satis.

All photography by Tim Dickeson.
Artwork Design by Dave Stapleton.

Flawless in execution, and driven by some of the most infectious and compelling music written in recent years, ‘Alive’ demonstrates an openness that is not always achievable in a studio setting. It is this telepathic empathy between the players and their collective desire to take the music in new directions.

‘Anyone who doubts there’s a UK jazz scene worth taking note of should listen to Phronesis, who are proof positive that we have bands that are worthy of jazz’s premier league right on our doorstep’. – Bass Guitar Magazine

‘Alive sounds like one of the hot UK jazz-album contenders of 2010’. GUARDIAN ****

‘Look out for Phronesis – they might change your life!’. BBC RADIO 3


'Look out for Phronesis – they might change your life!'

BBC Radio 3