Dave Holland
Another Land

Large toggle button
00:00 / 00:00
Previous track button Next track button
  • 1. Grave Walker 7.00
  • 2. Another Land 9.19
  • 3. Gentle Warrior 8.46
  • 4. 20 20 8.24
  • 5. Quiet Fire 4.39
  • Small toggle button
  • 7. Passing Time 8.08
  • 8. The Village 8.48
  • 9. Bring It Back Home 6.00

Release date: 28 May 2021

CD+ Free Download
96kHz 24Bit WAV
320k mp3

Available as limited edition vinyl, with online-only exclusives, as well as on CD, WAV and MP3

Orders, Preorders & Delivery FAQs

One of the most versatile and prolific bassist/composers in jazz history returns with a new all-star trio of jazz heavyweights, featuring guitarist Kevin Eubanks and drummer Obed Calvaire, and a power-packed set.

Credits and About

Dave Holland Bass and Bass Guitar

Kevin Eubanks Guitar

Obed Calvaire Drums

Recorded at Sear Sound, NYC September 10 – 11, 2019
Engineer – Chris Allen
Assistant Engineer – Steven Sacco

Mixed at Sear Sound, NYC August 18 – 19 - 20, 2020
Mastered at Sterling Sound by Greg Calbi September 7th, 2020

Album Artwork by Oli Bentley & Will Hibbert, Split
Photography by Ulli Gruber

Copies of Dave Holland compositions are available at daveholland.com/lojac-sheet-music/

Dave Holland uses Michael Tobias Design Bass Guitars, Thomastik-Infeld Bass Strings, LaBella Bass Guitar Strings and Gallien-Krueger Speakers and Amplifiers.
Kevin Eubanks uses Gallien-Krueger Amplifiers, Ernie Ball Strings and Morley Pedals
Obed Calvaire uses Zildjian cymbals, Vic Firth sticks, Meinl percussion and Yamaha drums

Another Land is the new album from the all-star trio featuring Dave Holland, Kevin Eubanks and Obed Calvaire and a power-packed set of originals. This is a potent studio set of fluid themes developed by the band and forged in the furnace of live performance. During the live shows that preceded the recording of Another Land, Dave explains “we were doing a continuous set, once we started we very rarely stopped, we just kept going,”. The Guardian described the shows as a “blues-fuelled inferno summoning the spirit of Hendrix”

Throughout his career, Dave Holland has established a reputation for making his bands a proving ground for promising young instrumentalists, but his latest trio is a true all-star assemblage of jazz heavyweights, all established bandleaders and composers, each representing the world standard on their instrument. Released on limited edition double vinyl, CD and hi-res download, this is a power-packed set that reunites Dave with the guitar work of Kevin Eubanks, whose searing, soulful approach was last heard on Dare 2 as part of the Prism project. Eubanks was also key to the muscular quartet that recorded Holland’s seminal 1990 ECM release Extensions, and this new band is yet another example of Holland’s brilliance at building ensembles that are greater than the sum of their formidable parts.

The album will be available on CD, Limited Edition Coloured Double Vinyl  and hi-res download – the first 200 LPs will also be numbered and include a signed postcard.