Edition logo Menu

Phronesis | Walking Dark


Download (MP3 & FLAC) & CD


JASPER HØIBY double bass


1. Walking Dark 6:02
2. Passing Clouds 3:56
3. Democracy 7:35
4. Suede Trees 5:01
5. Upside Down 4:38
6. Charm Defensive 5:38
7. Lipwash – Part I 1:34
8. Lipwash – Part II 4:46
9. Zieding 8:47
10. The Economist 5:58
11. American Jesus 7:05
12. Eight Hours 8:00


The album sees all three players reaching further than ever before, creating music that by turns drives with urban energy and resonates with mountainous space and sheer delightful abstraction.

Visit artist page


‘The secret of Phronesis is it stands for more than the sum of its parts and this outstanding album has got to be the best example of that to date’. JAZZWISE

‘Høiby is one of the most arresting bassists on the contemporary scene, his sound at once lithe and sonorous, his solos compulsively listenable, and with the unshowy but fluent piano of Neame and the cracklingly energetic drumming of Eger driving the band, Walking Dark is Phronesis’s most accomplished album to date’. LONDON JAZZ BLOG

‘Perhaps it’s the emotional volatility that ultimately makes Phronesis so different and appealing. Whatever, the music comes up as fresh as paint’. MANCHESTER EVENING NEWS

‘As the pile of talented and exciting piano trios continues to grow ever higher, it takes a very talented and exciting threesome to rise to the top and stay there. Enter Phronesis’. ALL ABOUT JAZZ

‘A group at the peak of its creative powers…with total confidence in their own abilities’. JAZZMANN

‘With Walking Dark, Høiby, Neame and Eger might soon be very big names indeed’. BBC MUSIC

‘Walking Dark confirms their position as one of the great piano trios of our time’. THE ARTS DESK


Music by Jasper Høiby, Ivo Neame and Anton Eger.

Recorded by August Wanngren at the Village Recording Studio, Copenhagen on 2nd, 3rd & 4th November 2011.
Mixed and mastered by August Wanngren at We Know Music Studios, Copenhagen.

Featured Video

Tour Dates

You might also like