Edition logo Menu

Neon Quartet | Subjekt


Download (MP3 & FLAC) & CD


STAN SULZMANN saxophones
KIT DOWNES piano / hammond organ
JIM HART vibes


1. Maison Musique 7:31
2. Mother Hen 9:03
3. Buster’s New Tail 7:39
4. New Balls 9:37
5. Springs and Neaps 8:09
6. Bye Ya 8:50
7. Ruskins Retreat 5:17


Subjekt is the new album by the Neon Quartet and their second for Edition Records. Their music is rich in colour, rhythmically robust and melodically persuasive, bursting with texture, nuances and interplay. Neon Quartet is made up of four extraordinary musicians equipped with strong personalities and individual sounds but it’s when the four play together that the magic really happens.

Led by legendary British saxophonist Stan Sulzmann, this bass-less quartet combine values of experience with the freshness and vitality of youth. Featuring three of the most talked about and in demand players of their generation including Kit Downes, Jim Hart and Tim Giles, Subjekt, looks set to firmly root this formidable band as one of the most exciting and leading chamber jazz ensembles in the UK scene.

Visit artist page


‘It’s another advance for this gifted, multi-generational band’s reflections on jazz’s past and present’. GUARDIAN

‘The music produced by the Neon Quartet is at once muscular and thoughtful, rich and subtle, its four members bouncing ideas off each other with infectious enjoyment’. LONDON JAZZ


Music by Stan Sulzmann (4,7), Kit Downes (2,3), Jim Hart (1,5) and Thelonius Monk (6).
Produced by Neon Quartet.

Recorded, mixed and mastered by Curtis Schartz at Curtis Schwartz Studio, Ardingly, West Sussex.
Photo of Neon Quartet by Tim Dickeson.
Artwork design and cover photos by Darren Rumney.

Featured Video

Tour Dates

You might also like