Edition logo Menu

Roller:Trio are James Mainwaring, saxophone & electronics, Chris Sharkey, guitar/bass & electronics and Luke Reddin-Williams, drums.

Leeds based Roller:Trio return in June 2018 with a new album, a new sound, a new line-up and a new home at Edition Records. On their previous two albums Roller:Trio have stunned audiences and won great critical praise for their mix of high-octane technique and deceptively catchy tunes. Chosen for a BBC Introducing showcase at Band on the Wall in 2011 by tastemakers Gilles Peterson, Mike Chadwick and Kevin LeGendre, they subsequently won the Peter Whittingham Jazz Award and their eponymous debut album was nominated for the 2012 Mercury Prize. That same year they were also nominated for the MOBO Best Jazz Act and Jazz FM Best Newcomer awards.

With their new album Roller:Trio have moved up a gear. The addition of guitarist Chris Sharkey (TrioVD, Acoustic Ladyland) has enabled the band to explore greater use of electronics, blending powerful grooves with processed beats for a much more edgy and raw sound. With their new base at Edition Records Roller:Trio now have the opportunity to grow a significant international following, confirming them as one of the hippest and most forward-thinking small ensembles in European jazz now! As Saxophonist James Mainwaring explains:

“It’s an exciting time for Roller:Trio. We’ve reformed with guitarist Chris Sharkey who also brings his bass and electronics wizardry to the mix. We’re releasing a new album on Edition Records and I’m looking forward to joining the outstanding Edition family who I’ve followed since the label started. I’ve had the pleasure of playing with some of the label’s fine roster in the past, and I think it will be a great next step for Roller’s new driving electronic sound.”

Roller Trio’s new album will be released in June 2018.

You might also like