Edition logo Menu


Jasper Høiby double bass
Josh Arcoleo saxophone
Marc Michel drums

Over the past decade, Danish double bassist Jasper Høiby has become renowned the world over for his fearlessly expressive sound, charismatic stage presence and distinct compositional prowess.  Since founding the acclaimed bass-led group Phronesis – which quickly gained the adulation of an international audience for it’s compelling musical synergy – Høiby has gone on to work with a who’s-who of today’s jazz superstars including Mark Guiliana, Django Bates and Shai Maestro.

2019 marks the launch of Høiby’s new European project featuring the talents of UK saxophonist Josh Arcoleo (Native Dancer, Jeff Williams) and French drummer Marc Michel (Alfio Origlio, Gilad Hekselman). This new adventure takes Høiby’s compositional skills into thrillingly uncharted territory, combining the dynamism and warmth of his acoustic tones with expansive soundscapes, samples of speech and atmospheres along with vertiginous loops.


“Høiby fashions his pieces so the lines between freedom and form are beautifully blurred, the music flows as a tumultuous organic whole – everything belongs, nothing is forced.” – MOJO

“Jasper Høiby, a nimble player and intriguing composer, conjures harmonic patterns that generate a compelling tension.” – The Telegraph

Featured Video

You might also like